Useless Pressure

Somedays things just happen that press at you to say “give me a try!” I was talking to my friend Crystal and her boyfriend Eric about blogs, and realized what’s been holding me back from posting frequently. It may be a gemini trait to start things, then wander off, but having a blog of my own doesn’t leave my mind. I constantly want to write and share experiences I’m having, but then I’m bombarded with draining thoughts such as the many blogs out there and that mine won’t stand out, wondering if I have to have a certain “voice” in my writing, and do I have to write a certain number of times a week, along with if there are topics I should stay away from, and many other things. I was getting so ahead of myself that I was becoming anxious, so the appeal of writing a blog diminished. There are days when I want to write, but those thoughts return, and I choose to just keep the thoughts inside instead.

Yet, Crystal made an excellent point, and it’s why I’m writing this entry right now. A blog is like a public diary, another outlet and means for me to express myself. It’s also a way for me to track and share my journey, and to remember the special moments encountered, to look back and relive them, and see how much I’ve grown, or have gone astray.

So I’ve decided that I’m going to do this! A blog becomes enriched with more experience, and I’ve got to start somewhere. I don’t know what lies ahead in my life journey, but I want to document it for myself so I don’t forget, and can continually appreciate every experience I have. I’m not going to take away from its spontaneity by setting a schedule, then it’ll feel like a required task, and obligation. But part of what lures me in is the relief I attain by setting my thoughts free.

So this is one of my goals for 2012, to not give up on my blog. I tried 3 other times, but obviously the desire is there. Who knows, maybe I’ll get to know myself even more, and my true voice will gain strength. This is my journey, and here it will be for you to see if you are interested in tagging along 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

